To content

Standing Committees

Commission for Safeguarding Good Scientific Practice

TU Dortmund University is committed to upholding the principles of good scientific practice. Good scientific practice finds its essential expression in the fact that scientists continuously check the correctness of the methods and results of their own scientific activities. Furthermore, every scientist shall exercise honesty towards himself/herself as well as towards the scientific community and general public in all aspects of scientific work.

The institutions for ensuring good scientific practice at the university level include the two ombudspersons and a commission of inquiry.

The ombudspersons serve as contact persons for those who seek clarification on questions of good scientific practice, who would like to point out a violation of the rules of good scientific practice, etc. They offer to mediate between those involved in a conflict. The ombudspersons check every suspicion of a violation of the rules of good scientific practice brought to their attention for plausibility, concreteness and significance, but do not conduct an investigation procedure that includes hearing the parties involved. The ombudspersons advise the Rectorate in matters concerning the safeguarding of good scientific practice.

  • Prof. Dr. Peter Krummrich
    Department of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology
  • Prof. Holger Wormer
    Department of Culture Studies

TU Dortmund University has established a permanent commission to investigate cases of suspected scientific misconduct. The investigative commission takes appropriate measures to clarify cases if it is informed by one of the ombudspersons, a university committee, members of TU Dortmund University or on the basis of external information about facts which give rise to the suspicion of academic misconduct. The Commission will only initiate an investigation procedure if there are sufficiently specific grounds for suspicion.

  • Prof. em. Dr. Dietrich Wegener
    Department of Physics
  • Prof. Dr. Walter Krämer
    Department of Statistics
  • Prof. Dr. Katja Crone
    Department of Humanities and Theology
  • Prof. Dr. Angelika Poferl
    Department of Education, Psychology and Sociology
  • Dr. Anne Busian
    Department of Education, Psychology and Sociology
  • Dr. Michael Paulus
    Department of Physics
  • Birgit Cirullies
    Senior Attorney General at the Public Prosecutor's Office Dortmund (retired)

Joint Ethics Commission of the Departments 11 to 17

The Joint Ethics Commission advises and supports scientists of TU Dortmund University in legal and ethical questions, which are connected with the implementation of research projects, prior to their start.

It primarily supports members of Departments 11 to 17. In exceptional cases, it also processes applications from other departments or institutions of TU Dortmund University, if its capacity permits.

The Commission examines research projects in particular with regard to the protection of human dignity and the autonomy and self-determination of those involved in the research. It also deals with data protection issues.

Questions and applications can be sent to the Ethics Committee at .

More information

Cafeteria menus

Location & approach

The campus of TU Dort­mund University is located close to interstate junction Dort­mund West, where the Sauerlandlinie A 45 (Frankfurt-Dort­mund) crosses the Ruhrschnellweg B 1 / A 40. The best interstate exit to take from A 45 is “Dort­mund-Eichlinghofen” (closer to South Campus), and from B 1 / A 40 “Dort­mund-Dorstfeld” (closer to North Campus). Signs for the uni­ver­si­ty are located at both exits. Also, there is a new exit before you pass over the B 1-bridge leading into Dort­mund.

To get from North Campus to South Campus by car, there is the connection via Vogelpothsweg/Baroper Straße. We recommend you leave your car on one of the parking lots at North Campus and use the H-Bahn (suspended monorail system), which conveniently connects the two campuses.

TU Dort­mund University has its own train station (“Dort­mund Uni­ver­si­tät”). From there, suburban trains (S-Bahn) leave for Dort­mund main station (“Dort­mund Hauptbahnhof”) and Düsseldorf main station via the “Düsseldorf Airport Train Station” (take S-Bahn number 1, which leaves every 15 or 30 minutes). The uni­ver­si­ty is easily reached from Bochum, Essen, Mülheim an der Ruhr and Duisburg.

You can also take the bus or subway train from Dort­mund city to the uni­ver­si­ty: From Dort­mund main station, you can take any train bound for the Station “Stadtgarten”, usually lines U41, U45, U 47 and U49. At “Stadtgarten” you switch trains and get on line U42 towards “Hombruch”. Look out for the Station “An der Palmweide”. From the bus stop just across the road, busses bound for TU Dort­mund University leave every ten minutes (445, 447 and 462). Another option is to take the subway routes U41, U45, U47 and U49 from Dort­mund main station to the stop “Dort­mund Kampstraße”. From there, take U43 or U44 to the stop “Dort­mund Wittener Straße”. Switch to bus line 447 and get off at “Dort­mund Uni­ver­si­tät S”.

The AirportExpress is a fast and convenient means of transport from Dortmund Airport (DTM) to Dortmund Central Station, taking you there in little more than 20 minutes. From Dortmund Central Station, you can continue to the university campus by interurban railway (S-Bahn). A larger range of international flight connections is offered at Düsseldorf Airport (DUS), which is about 60 kilometres away and can be directly reached by S-Bahn from the university station.

The H-Bahn is one of the hallmarks of TU Dort­mund University. There are two stations on North Campus. One (“Dort­mund Uni­ver­si­tät S”) is directly located at the suburban train stop, which connects the uni­ver­si­ty directly with the city of Dort­mund and the rest of the Ruhr Area. Also from this station, there are connections to the “Technologiepark” and (via South Campus) Eichlinghofen. The other station is located at the dining hall at North Campus and offers a direct connection to South Campus every five minutes.

The facilities of TU Dortmund University are spread over two campuses, the larger Campus North and the smaller Campus South. Additionally, some areas of the university are located in the adjacent “Technologiepark”.

Site Map of TU Dortmund University (Second Page in English).